Brexit: New rules and legislation on rail transport from 1 January 2021


The United Kingdom left the EU on 31 January 2020 and the transition period ended on 31 December 2020. New rules came into force on 1 January 2021.

We have developed a set of short guidance documents highlighting the main changes to existing regulation from 1 January 2021.

  • EU passenger and freight licences and statements of national regulatory provisions (SNRPs) from 1 January 2021
  • Train driving licences from 1 January 2021
  • Railway safety legislation from 1 January 2021