Press releases

Transport Secretary appoints three new non-executive directors to join the board of the Office of Rail and Road

30 September 2016

Content archived on 10 August 2022

Archive date
07 July 2021

David Franks, Anne Heal and Graham Mather bring a wealth of experience in transport, the rail industry and network regulation and will support the ORR’s work protecting the interests of rail passengers, freight customers and road users.

The Transport Secretary said:

We are undertaking the biggest programme of investment in road and rail in a generation and need a strong, independent regulator to champion the travelling public and ensure that every pound of taxpayer’s money is well spent. I am delighted to welcome this exciting new talent to the team.

ORR Chair, Stephen Glaister, said:

I am delighted to welcome David, Anne and Graham. They were selected from a strong field of applicants and will bring important perspective and contributions to the complex work of our board.

David Franks has been Chief Executive of Irish Rail since February 2013 and has over 40 years’ experience in the rail industry.

Anne Heal has a 20 year track record of strategic delivery at board level including senior posts at a range of organisations including BT, Volunteering Matters and Ofqual.

Graham Mather is currently Chair of the European Policy Forum’s Regulatory Best Practice Group, a non-executive member of the board of Ofcom and was previously a member of the Monopolies and Mergers Commission.

All three will take up their appointments on 1 October 2016 for 5 years.

The appointments were made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments’ Guidance on ministerial appointments to public bodies.