Compensation and complaints

Consultation on a draft Complaints Code of Practice

3 August 2021
Body
In this consultation we set out proposals to replace our current guidance on complaints handling procedures for licence holders with a new Complaints Code of Practice and amended licence condition.

Annual rail consumer report 2021

6 July 2021
Body
Our annual report focusing on the performance of train companies and Network Rail in the consumer areas we regulate.

Know your rail rights

17 December 2020
Body
We have launched this campaign to better empower rail passengers.

Changes to complaints handling

29 July 2019
Body
We have published the results of research which reviews complaints handling in regulated sectors which have an ombudsman.

ORR's advice to the Williams Rail Review

26 July 2019
Body
This document is the Office of Rail and Road's submission to The Williams Rail Review. It is in response to a request from Mr Williams, made in February 2019 at the annual Bradshaw address.

ORR urges sweeping reforms on accessibility and compensation

16 July 2019
Body
Assisted travel reforms include improving the reliability of assistance for passengers, a shorter timeframe for booking assistance, and compensation when things go wrong. ORR recommends that train operators must tell passengers of their right to compensation during a journey and settle claims within 20 days.

Rail Regulator publishes passenger delay compensation claims data

10 January 2019
Body
Official statistics released for the first time today by the Office of Rail and Road (ORR) show there were around 3 million compensation claims made for rail delays between April and mid-October 2018, of which 84% were approved and 92% were closed within 20 working days.