Station access


We regulate access to stations by approving new station access agreements and amendments to existing station access agreements in accordance with the provisions set out under the Railways Act 1993.

Network Rail owns the freehold to the vast majority of  more than 2,500 railway stations in Great Britain.

Most stations are leased to and operated by one  of the passenger train operating companies operating in accordance with an agreement awarded by the Department for Transport or Scottish Ministers.

The operator of a station is known as a station facility owner. Other train operators (known as beneficiaries) who want to use the station must enter into an access agreement with the station facility owner. If the agreements are not approved by us, they are invalid.

Network Rail operates the major stations, comprising:

  • Birmingham New Street
  • Bristol Temple Meads
  • Cannon Street
  • Charing Cross
  • Clapham Junction 
  • Edinburgh Waverley
  • Euston
  • Glasgow Central
  • Guildford 
  • Kings Cross
  • Leeds
  • Liverpool Lime Street
  • Liverpool Street
  • London Bridge
  • Manchester Piccadilly
  • Paddington
  • Reading
  • St. Pancras International
  • Victoria 
  • Waterloo 

This diagram explains the relationships which exist within the contractual regime: 

Station access diagram

Contact us 

The Stations & Depots team are happy to discuss any station access queries and can be contacted at